Leadership Council Member

Barry Wallerstein

  • Senior Policy Fellow, School of Public Policy, University of California, Riverside
Barry Wallerstein is a Senior Policy Fellow at the UC Riverside School of Public Policy. Wallerstein served as Executive Officer of the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) from 1997 to 2016. Before joining SCAQMD, Barry Wallerstein was previously an Environmental Control Administrator for Northrop, and was on the rule development staff in the Mobile Source Division of the California Air Resources Board. He has also served as Co-President of the National Association of Clean Air Agencies. Barry Wallerstein holds a doctorate in environmental science and engineering from UCLA, and M.S. and B.S. degrees in biological science.

Darwin Moosavi

  • Deputy Secretary, Environmental Policy and Housing Coordination, California State Transportation Agency
Darwin Moosavi was appointed Deputy Secretary for Environmental Policy and Housing Coordination at the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) in August of 2019 by Governor Gavin Newsom. Darwin previously served as Special Advisor to the Secretary at CalSTA in early 2019. Before joining the team at CalSTA, Darwin served as Sustainability Project Manager the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), leading initiatives to champion walking, bicycling and transit use, promote zero emission vehicles and integrate equity considerations into the Department’s work. Under the administration of Governor Brown, Darwin was appointed as a Senior Planner at the Governor’s Office of Planning and Research, where he worked on various transportation policy issues centered around building sustainable communities and reducing vehicle miles traveled. Darwin spent several years helping build the Affordable Housing and Sustainable Communities program, and later served as its Program Manager at the Strategic Growth Council.

Douglas Shinkle

  • Transportation Program Director, National Conference of State Legislatures
Douglas Shinkle is the Transportation Program Director in the Environment, Energy and Transportation Program at the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). He has worked for NCSL since 2005, focusing on traffic safety, shared and innovative mobility, transportation funding, and many other key areas of transportation. Shinkle has written a number of well-regarded publications for NCSL, and enjoys ensuring members of the Colorado General Assembly benefit from and participate in NCSL activities. A Colorado native, Shinkle worked at the Colorado Capitol on three occasions, as well as for a California Congressman and a California Assemblymember.

Erich Zimmermann

  • Director of Transportation Programs, National Association of Regional Councils
Erich Zimmermann is the Director of Transportation Programs at the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC). Erich Zimmermann is responsible for NARC’s transportation portfolio, which includes managing priorities for NARC’s members, lobbying for regional priorities on Capitol Hill, and carrying out a variety of programmatic, research, and communication initiatives. He helps refine policy priorities and recommendations for the federal surface transportation authorization and also manages NARC’s transportation technical assistance and education program. Erich Zimmerman is also a member of the Transportation Research Board’s Metropolitan Policy, Planning, and Processes Committee (ADA20) Before joining NARC, Erich Zimmermann worked at the Taxpayers for Common Sense. Erich Zimmermann has a B.A. in Political Communication from The George Washington University and a M.S. in Environmental Studies from the University of Montana.

Jefferey Lindley

  • Associate Executive Director / Chief Technical Officer, Institute of Transportation Engineers
Jeff Lindley is the Associate Executive Director and Chief Technical Officer at the Institute of Transportation Engineers where he works to improve mobility and safety for all transportation system users and helps build smart and livable communities. Lindley has served as FHWA’s national practice leader in both safety and operations. Lindley has served as chair of the TRB Committee on Freeway Operations and as Secretary of the AASHTO Subcommittee on Transportation Systems Management and Operations. Lindley is a recipient of both the FHWA Richard D. Morgan Leadership Development Award and the FHWA Administrator’s Award for Superior Achievement. He holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Virginia Tech and a master’s degree in transportation engineering from the University of Maryland.

Jennifer Gress, Ph.D.

  • Chief, Sustainable Transportation and Communities Division of the California Air Resources Board
Jennifer is the Chief of the Sustainable Transportation and Communities Division at the California Air Resources Board, and is focused on promoting policies that provide a range of affordable housing and transportation options that reduce vehicle miles traveled and accelerate the transition to a zero-emission future.  Prior to this position, Jennifer was a Senior Policy Advisor to Sacramento Mayor Darrell Steinberg, where she was responsible for policy development related to housing and community development, transportation, and sustainability.  From 2011 until 2017, Jennifer served as the Legislative Director for the California Air Resources Board. From 2005 until 2011, Jennifer was a consultant to the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee, where she focused on air quality, ports and goods movement, active transportation, and public-private partnerships, among many other transportation-related issues.

Joseph Lyou, Ph.D.

  • President and CEO, Coalition for Clean Air
Dr. Joseph K. Lyou has worked for more than 30 years to improve public health and environmental conditions in California’s most polluted and disadvantaged communities. Dr. Lyou serves as President and CEO of the Coalition for Clean Air, a state-wide organization dedicated to protecting public health, improving air quality, and preventing climate change. Dr. Lyou also serves as the Speaker of the Assembly appointee to the California Transportation Commission (CTC), an independent public agency responsible for programming and allocating more than $20 billion annually for the construction of highway, passenger rail, transit, and active transportation improvements throughout California.

Kate Wright

  • Executive Director, Local Government Commission
Kate Wright has served as the Executive Director of the Local Government Commission (LGC) since 2013. LGC is a nationally recognized nonprofit supporting local policymakers through events, technical assistance, and policy guidance on climate change, energy, water, and community design. Kate spearheaded the launch of many of the LGC’s pioneering programs, including the biennial California Adaptation Forum and the CivicSpark AmeriCorps Program that deploys 90 fellows annually to advance community resiliency initiatives. Kate serves as a board member of the American Leadership Forum, Grid Alternatives North Valley, Street Soccer USA Sacramento and the Powerhouse Science Center.

Michele Boomhower

  • Director of Policy, Planning and Intermodal Development, Vermont Agency of Transportation
Michele Boomhower serves as the Director of Policy, Planning & Intermodal Development for the Vermont Agency of Transportation (VTrans), where she oversees programming for Policy, Planning, Permitting, Research, Mapping, Aviation, Rail, Public Transit, and Public Outreach. Michele Boomhower was recently appointed as the Agency representative to the Governor’s Climate Change Commission. Prior to joining VTrans, Michele Boomhower served six years as the Metropolitan Planning Organization Director for the Chittenden County Regional Planning Commission serving the greater Burlington area in Vermont.